The winners of the Environment and Energy Awards 2012 have recently been announced at a special black tie dinner held at the National Motorcycle Museum in Birmingham as part of Sustainabilitylive! 2012.

Donna Bushell, event director said, “Once again we were very impressed by the quality of this year’s entries, which made choosing the winners a difficult task for the judges. A number of first time entrants also highlighted an encouraging trend – that even during difficult economic times, companies are maintaining their commitment to sustainable practices and continuing to invest in new technology and employee training.”

There were 13 categories – including the new Outstanding Achievement Award – with the winners and highly commended entries as follows:

ESTA Energy Manager of the Year Award
Winner: Matt Hastings, Eden Project

NEMEX Renewables Innovation Award
Winner: B&Q

Energy Product/Service Award
Winner: EnerNOC

SME Award for Energy Efficiency
Winner: The Alumet Group

Energy-Efficient Refurbishment Award
Winner: Alliance Boots

Energy Supplier Customer Service Award
Winner: Phoenix Supply

Environmental/Sustainability Manager of the Year
Winner: Steven Judd, Tube Lines

Innovation Award for Environmental Technology
Winner: Gloucestershire County Council and Atkins

Environment Product/Service Award
Winner: Best Foot Forward

Environmental Leadership Award for Cultural Change
Winner: Molson Coors Brewing Company

Sustainable Business of the Year Award
Winner: Sainsbury’s Supermarkets

Sustainability Communications Campaign Award
Winner: Anglian Water

Outstanding Achievement Award
Winner: Andrew Warren, Association for the Conservation of Energy